Inside this article

What is a workspace
Workspace settings
The difference between a workspace, folder, and doc
The My Docs folder in the workspace
Moving folders between workspaces
Adding people to workspaces
Upgrading a workspace
Unlocking a workspace
Deleting a workspace
Workspace FAQs

What is a workspace

A workspace is your home base for all things Coda. It will store your docs in an organized way, and you'll invite members into the workspace to help you get the job done. A workspace can be free or paid (depending on your plan), and as the workspace's Doc Maker or admin, you'll be able to dictate the rules for how it works.

Workspace settings

Each workspace can be a little bit different depending on what you want to achieve. Workspace settings have a few key parts for an admin to control.

  • About - Here you'll name and describe your workspace.
  • Billing - You'll see the details of your plan here. If you ever need to upgrade your workspace or see a past bill, you can do so here.
  • Membership - Here's where you can decide how people will interact with the workspace. You can decide who can create new docs, whether your approval is needed for new members, and set up approved email domains so you control who edits from outside your team. 
  • Members - You can also invite new people and determine their access level here. And, if things change, you can always update their access level to suit their new role. 

The difference between a workspace, folder, and doc

Workspaces contain folders which contain docs. Your workspace is your center for managing people and the content they have access to. You'll use folders to keep docs organized in the workspace (think departments, teams, and projects). Your docs will be where the true work gets done with all of your tables, text, and app-like solutions. 

Keep in mind that you can build organization inside each doc with sections and folders as well. Your doc can grow with you without losing track of anything. 

The My Docs folder in the workspace

When you create or join a workspace you will see a My Docs folder. This is your personal space to try something new, and where you can create and interact with your personal docs. These docs will have access to the same features and capabilities that the workspace it lives in provides. Docs in this folder are considered private by default. Other people will not be allowed to join this folder but you can still share each of your docs with them or drag any docs to a new folder for more people to access.

Moving docs between folders and workspaces

Sometimes you'll realize that a doc needs to shift to a new folder or workspace.  Any member of a workspace, an Editor or Maker, can move docs across folders and workspaces. To move a doc, you'll need to:

  1. Be able to edit the doc 
  2. Be a member of the destination folder
  3. Be able to at least edit in the destination workspace
  4. Ensure the doc owner (see Note below) is a member of the destination workspace

Note: If the owner of the doc (as assigned by Google Drive) is not a member of the destination workspace, then the doc will not be able to move. Make sure that the admin of the destination folder allows people to join automatically as editors in the Coda workspace settings. If the owner is an editor in the destination workspace then the doc will become read-only. 

Once you've determined that you meet the criteria above, simply click the ... icon next to the doc and choose Move.

If you need to move multiple docs, click the Select Docs link, click the checkboxes of the docs you'd like to move and choose Move. You'll be able to select their new location and be well on your way. 

As a fun tip, when you open a doc you can see the folder it lives in if you look at the bottom left of the doc. If you do not have access to this folder then you will see a link to All Docs.

Adding people to workspaces

When you add people to a workspace, they become members. You decide what they can and can't do with the docs based on their role. To add someone to a workspace, click +Invite and select the role you'd like them to have. Click here for more information on Members and Roles.

Upgrading a workspace

You can start from a free workspace that can seamlessly grow with your team as you upgrade. This means that anyone can create a free workspace and start by inviting others to participate in the workspace as members with different roles (such as Makers, Editors, Guests, or Viewers). This provides a consistent experience from the very beginning. When you want to upgrade a free workspace, your membership list stays the same in the upgraded workspace. Upgrading is all about unlocking new features and capabilities and not forcing a larger reorganization of a team's workspace setup.

Ready to upgrade? This is easy to do from the workspace settings in the Billing section. Simply click upgrade and you are on your way! As an admin, you may also receive email notifications from your workspace members requesting an upgrade to level up a doc when it's over limits or reached a quota. This is a handy way to understand what your members need for the docs they are creating. To upgrade from a doc, click the Upgrade button.

Unlocking a workspace

If payment for your monthly plan fails, your workspace may be temporarily locked. But don't worry. When a bill is missed we provide a 7 day grace period to update your billing preferences in the workspace settings and pay the bill. If you go beyond the 7 day grace period the Docs in the workspace will become read-only. Docs cannot be created or moved into the workspace, and the workspace settings and membership list will also become read-only until payment is received. Please contact Coda for help unlocking your workspace.

Deleting a workspace

Workspaces need to be empty of docs to before you can delete them. You can then choose the Delete workspace option under the workspace's Settings menu.

Workspace FAQs

What if my company already has a Coda workspace? How do I sign up?

You will simply start at coda.io and sign up for Coda. The admin of your company workspace can help users by identifying a list of domains (the part of your email address after the @ symbol) that can join their workspace automatically. If you are on one of these domains, you will automatically be added to the workspace as an Editor. From there you can join any folders that make sense for you. This will not work for .edu or non-gmail domains yet.

How do I downgrade a workspace?

To downgrade a workspace, just get in touch with us at support@coda.io. We will be happy to help you out.

Is there a limit for how many Admins I can have?

There is no limit! As a reminder, admins are billed as Doc Makers. Please note that you will not be able to delete or downgrade an admin in a workspace if they are the only one.

I tried to move a doc across workspaces but it became read only. What happened?

You'll see this happen if the owner of the doc is an Editor in the destination workspace.

I'm on a free workspace and I see a lot of Admins. How is that happening?

There is a special rule for free workspaces that automatically makes users Admins when they create a doc. This enables anyone that is an Admin in the workspace to upgrade when the team is ready for the next level.

If I upgrade my free workspace to a paid workspace, who will become the admin?

As the person that upgraded, you will automatically be made the Admin. All previous admins will be downgraded to Doc Maker. From there you can add more admins as needed or update existing members to admin.

Did this answer your question?