Inside this Article

What is a folder

The My Docs folder

Folder settings

Joining and leaving folders

Adding a folder

Removing a folder

Moving docs between folders and workspaces

Folders FAQs

What is a folder?

We use folders to keep docs organized in the workspace (think departments, teams, and projects). Your docs are where the true work gets done with all of your tables, text, and app-like solutions. Folders contain docs within the workspace.

Keep in mind that you can build organization inside each doc with pages and subpages as well. Your doc can grow with you without losing track of anything. Take care not to confuse Folders with Pages.

The My Docs folder

When you create or join a workspace you will see a My Docs folder. You can tell it apart from any other folder named My Docs by the profile picture (but who would do such a thing??). This is your personal space where you can create and interact with your personal docs. These docs will have access to the same features and capabilities that the workspace it lives in provides.

Docs in this folder are considered private by default. Other people will not be allowed to join this folder but you can still share each of your docs with them via the Share dialog or move docs to a new folder via the Doc Title Menu.

This folder cannot be deleted. When you use the "coda.new" url shortcut to create a new doc, that doc will typically appear in the My Docs folder of the workspace you last participated in.

Folder settings

Shared Folders

Shared folders are public to all makers within a workspace and grants all workspace members Edit permissions to their doc contents. By default, all new folders (besides the My Docs folder) are shared, so make them private if you don't want every member of your workspace to have access to your doc(s).

Note: Making folders private is a Team plan feature.

Anyone with access to a folder can also pin docs so that the docs show up at the top of the folder for everyone who accesses it. Learn more here.

Private Folders

For Team and Enterprise plans, you can adjust your folder settings by clicking on Shared folder settings in the top-left corner of the folder window. Then scroll down to the Folder access section and turn on the Private folder option.

Note: Free and Pro makers can use their My Docs folder to keep docs private.

Private folders are invisible to everyone in the workspace except for the folder members. Folder members, by default, have Edit access to all docs within a folder. So make sure you only invite workspace members you want to have Edit permissions automatically added for.

Joining and leaving folders

When you are part of a workspace as an Editor or Doc Maker, you'll be able to see the entire shared folder catalog by clicking on your workspace name. You can then decide to join or leave folders based on your interests.

To join a folder, click the Join button.

To leave a folder, click the Leave button.

Adding a folder

To add a new folder to your workspace and select "New folder" at the bottom your workspace folders list. Select whether this folder should be private or shared, then add a name and save! Then, you can add your teammates to the folder if needed (if it's a shared folder, they can find the folder contents regardless).

Removing a folder

To remove a folder, first relocate or delete all of the folder's contents, not including the Welcome to Coda placeholder doc which cannot be deleted.

Then, go to your Folder settings (found in the top-right corner of folder menu) and hit the delete button at the bottom of the page. It will remain disabled until all docs are moved

Moving docs between folders and workspaces

Sometimes docs need to be moved to new folders or workspaces. Any member of a workspace, an Editor or Maker, can move docs across folders and workspaces. To move a doc, you'll need to:

  1. Be able to edit the doc

  2. Be a member of the destination folder

  3. Ensure the doc owner (see Note below) is a member of the destination folder

Note: If the owner of the doc is not a member of the destination workspace, then the doc will not be able to move. Make sure that the admin of the destination workspace allows people to join automatically as editors in the Coda workspace settings. If the owner is an editor in the destination workspace then the doc will become read-only.

Once you've determined that you meet the criteria above, simply click the ... icon next to the doc title and choose Move.

If you need to move multiple docs, click the Select Docs link, click the checkboxes of the docs you'd like to move and choose Move. You'll be able to select their new location and be well on your way.

Folders FAQs

What are the default sharing settings for any new doc created?

Generally, docs are created in one of three places and it depends on where the doc is created:

  • My Docs Folder: Any document created in “My docs” in the left navigation of your home page is private (no link sharing turned on and not shared with others at the org) unless you explicitly invited other users to the doc. We recommend creating docs in your “My docs” section and then moving them to a shared folder. Learn more

  • Shared Folders: Docs created in shared folders are accessible by default to members of the shared folder. Since anyone can join a shared folder, this essentially means docs created in shared folders will be accessible to anyone else in the workspace. Anyone in your workspace will be able to view, join, and access shared folders.

  • Private Folders (Team Plan or above): Docs created in private folders are accessible by default to members of the private folder. Anyone else invited to that doc directly (via the "invite" dialog) or who has the link shared with them will have access to that doc, but not to the private folder.

I tried to move a doc across folders but it became read only. What happened?

You'll see this happen if the owner of the doc is not a Doc Maker in the destination workspace.

What if everyone leaves a private folder?

We have you covered. The last person in the folder will not be able to leave it.

How do I remove someone from a folder?

Any member of a folder can remove other members of the folder. This is available in the folder's Settings in the folder membership list.

Did this answer your question?