Inside this article

Inviting people to collaborate

Sharing a Coda doc with a link

Embedding your Coda docs

Advanced sharing settings

Sharing FAQs

  • How do I share a doc with Coda Support?

  • Can I hide a specific Section from someone?

  • How can I prevent people from copying my doc?

Inviting people to collaborate

You can collaborate on your Coda doc with anyone, as long as they have a Coda account. If they don’t, you can still invite them and they’ll be asked to create an account. Simply click the Share icon in the upper right and type the email address of the person you'd like to share with:

Screen Shot 2021-04-21 at 5.08.31 PM.png

When you invite someone, you can decide what type of access they'll have:

Screen Shot 2021-04-21 at 5.09.39 PM.png
  • Can view allows others to only view the contents of your doc; they cannot make any edits, including interacting with buttons or controls

  • Can comment allows others to view and leave comments on your doc; they cannot make any other edits

  • Can edit allows others to edit your doc, delete content, create pages, push buttons, leave comments, etc.; you can use locking to scale down editing abilities


Searching for others at your company

Suggestions for others in your workspace will appear as you type in the share dialog.

Mention to Share

You can also share with team members by @-mentioning them in a cell, comment, or directly on the page. If someone is already in your Coda workspace, you’ll see them as an option to share. Otherwise, simply follow the @-symbol with their email address to open the sharing dialog, then get back to making!

Mention to Share After.gif

Sharing at scale

If you know that you'll be working on several docs with someone, you might want to invite them to your folders and workspaces instead.

Sharing a Coda doc with a link

Instead of having to enter email addresses, you can also share a Coda doc with a link! You can now share using a link with people outside of your organization, and even choose different access levels for your coworkers than for everyone else.

Start by clicking the Share icon in the upper right. You'll then see two options:

  • Anyone with a link at your domain

  • Anyone with the link

You can then click the dropdown menu next to each option and select the sharing level that seems right.

Screen Shot 2021-04-21 at 5.11.57 PM.png

Embedding your Coda docs

You can also embed your Coda doc on your website, blog, wiki or pretty much anywhere else. Just click the Embed button in the Share menu, and copy the embed code to paste onto your website.

Note: due to recent privacy-related changes in major browsers to prevent third party cookies, docs must be shared publicly in order to display properly as embeds.

When you select the option to embed a Coda doc, you have a few more choices you can make to customize the experience:

  • Enable play which allows people to explore your doc without saving their changes

  • Hide page list to remove the left menu of all the parts of your doc

  • Add a height and width so it fits perfectly into the space you have available

Keep in mind, viewers will still be able to play with the doc, see the section list and view open comments by clicking the Open in Coda button.


Advanced sharing settings

When you open up the Share settings for your doc, you’ll see Advanced settings at the bottom of the pop-up.

Screen Shot 2021-05-13 at 11.27.15 AM.png

“Allow people who can edit to change access and add new people”

This setting allows any people with edit access to your doc to also have control over sharing and access to said doc. If you’d like to prevent others from modifying the access to your doc, toggle this setting off.

“Allow others to copy this doc”

This setting controls whether people with access to your doc can make their own copy. With this setting off, editors, viewers, and commenters will no longer have the option to copy the doc, including from the top left-hand corner of the doc or via a Copy Doc button. If the doc is shared with commenters or viewers, they cannot copy and paste the contents of your doc.


A few things to note about this setting:

  • You must be the doc owner to change this setting!

  • Docs are automatically created with this setting toggled on.

  • If your doc is published to our Doc Gallery, the Copy Doc button in the upper-right hand will no longer appear when doc copy is disabled.

  • Disabling Copy Doc will also disable the ability to Make doc into a template in the top left-hand corner of the doc

Publishing

Publishing is a new sharing option that lets you broadcast your ideas to the world. Your doc gets a unique URL, which unfurls when pasted in many sites (including social networks).


If you set your published doc to discoverable, your doc will be made available for search indexing so that it can find an even broader audience. You can also determine how people can interact with your doc, and whether they can copy it to use as a template.


For more information, check out: https://help.coda.io/en/articles/3727616-intro-to-publishing

Sharing FAQs

How do I share a doc with Coda Support?

You can share a doc with support by clicking the ... next to <> Embed in the Share settings. This allows the doc to be shared with the Coda team for 7 days, at which point the team's access will automatically expire. If you'd like to revoke access sooner, you can do so by manually changing Coda Support access from Can Edit to No Access within the same Share screen shown below.

Screen+Recording+2021-05-13+at+11.30.13+AM.gif

Can I hide specific Pages from someone?

Yes! We now support hiding individual Pages and Subpages. This is available on the Pro tier and up. Keep in mind that anyone can unhide Pages, so for more restrictions you may want to explore the locking feature. For more information about what's covered in each plan, check out coda.io/pricing.

You might also want to check out these help articles: Can I hide Pages in my doc? and Doc locking

How can I prevent people from copying my doc?

To disable copy, click Share in the top-right hand bar and navigate to your Advanced Settings to the appropriate toggle. See “Allow others to copy this doc” section above for more info.

Did this answer your question?