Inside this Article
Let's say an employee has left your company and needs to be removed from your Coda workspace. This article will walk you through the processes to:
remove this member
revoke access to workspace docs
transfer ownership of this member’s docs to active workspace members
A few things to note. First, you’ll need to be a workspace admin to complete this process.
Second, the processes are different depending on which Coda plan your workspace utilizes. See the appropriate section below.
Lastly, you should only offboard makers that are permanently leaving the workspace. If a maker will retain access to their account, please have them follow the steps here instead: Changing ownership of your Coda docs.
Applies to team, pro, free & enterprise workspaces that do not use SCIM.
Step 1: Remove member
From your workspace home, click on Workspace settings on the left. Then, find the member in the member list. Click on the role associated with their name, then select Remove from the drop-down.
If this member owns any docs, you'll see a pop-up notifying you that these docs will become read-only and asking you to confirm.
Step 2: Manage access
You should now see their name under the Removed members' section of the member list. Click on "Manage access" to the right of their name to open the Manage access window. Here, you’ll see how many docs this member has access to and how many docs they own. You can choose either:
Offboard member if the member has left the workspace for good and isn’t planning on re-joining (note that this process is not reversible)
Reinvite to the workspace to undo the removal
or just close out to leave their access as-is if their removal is only temporary to make collaborating with them in the future easier
To continue with offboarding, select Offboard member, then select Continue.
Step 3: Revoke access
Next, you’ll see a dialog explaining how many docs in the workspace are currently shared directly with this member. You’ll be asked to confirm that this member has left your organization. Please note that access will be revoked immediately and that this action is not reversible. Select Revoke to proceed.
Step 4: Transfer doc ownership
Finally, you’ll have the option to transfer all docs from this member to a new owner. You should see the number of transferrable docs owned by this removed user.
In the Transfer To field, type an email to choose which active member of the workspace should own these docs moving forward. Both the original and the new owner will receive notifications about this once the transfer is complete. You’ll only be able to select from current Doc Makers in this drop-down.
Note: You may also see a number of Non-transferrable docs owned by this removed user. These are private docs that are not shared with anyone. For privacy reasons, these docs will be deleted instead of transferred. Coda will disclose private docs in response to valid legal processes.
Check the box to confirm, then select Transfer.
That’s it! You should be all set. But if you run into any issues, you can always contact our Support team for help.
Organization offboarding (Enterprise only)
Applies to enterprise workspaces that use SCIM.
If you are an organization administrator of an enterprise workspace and one of your user's accounts has been deactivated via SCIM, you can transfer all their owned docs to another user in your organization.
In order to get started, you must be an organization administrator and your organization must be on the Enterprise plan.
Open your organization admin console by selecting Organization Settings under the ... menu below your workspace.
At the bottom of the page, select Manage users
Click "Transfer Docs" next to the user to who you want to transfer their docs. Note: Only deactivated users appear in this list. If the user is not in this list, they might not be a part of your organization's registered domains, or they may not have been deactivated through your identity provider via SCIM.
Type the user you would like to transfer the docs to. Note: Only active organization users appear in this list. If the user is not on this list, they might not be a part of your organization's registered domains.
Click Transfer Ownership, and the process will begin – after it completes, you should see "Done transferring docs" appear next to the user.