Not everyone who works on a Coda doc with you will need the same access. In fact, sometimes restricting abilities is critical for getting the job done and protecting your information. This is why Coda gives you a wide range of roles to choose from for the members of your workspaces.

Let's do a quick rundown of why you would choose the following roles:

  • Admin - This person is going to be the boss of the workspace. They set the rules and can do everything Coda has to offer. If you're creating the workspace, this will most likely be you and anyone else you decide to make an Admin.
  • Doc Maker - These folks have the superpower of creating and managing docs and folders.  Within docs, Doc Makers can administer things like changing the title and icon, adjusting the timezone, configuring doc and section locking, and more. You'll choose this role for people who are leading a team's processes and creating docs to run them.
  • Editor - People with this role won't be able to create docs or folders, but they will be able to make changes. Editors will be able to experience all the building blocks of the doc ー making sections, adding tables, constructing formulas and buttons, adding Packs and Automations, and more. You'll choose this role for people who need to interact with and contribute to docs as part of their job.

*Note: Deleting a doc is restricted to the Doc Maker

Members and Roles FAQs

Do all members cost the same?

Coda believes in Maker billing. Often there’ll be one person who creates a doc, others who edit, and some who simply observe from afar. Most pricing models make you pay for everyone equally. At Coda, we only charge by the Doc Maker. For more information, see our pricing FAQs.

What happens if I downgrade a Doc Maker to an Editor or I remove them from the workspace?

When you downgrade or remove a doc maker from a workspace, all the docs where the user is the doc owner will become read-only. You can check who the doc owner is in the sharing dialog of the doc. To change the doc owner, you will need to go to Google Drive and change it from there for each doc you'd like to unlock. You will need to change it to another member of the workspace that has the role of Doc Maker.

How can I see the non-workspace members that have access to docs in my workspace?

Check out the sharing dialog of the doc itself. Although you will not see exactly who is a guest, it does have the complete list of people who have access to the doc, which include people outside of your workspace and if they have the ability to edit, view, or comment.

Can I give edit or view access to people outside my workspace?

Yes! Whenever you share a doc for editing with someone outside of your workspace, they will be added to the doc but not to your workspace. These external users can edit or view individual docs shared with them, but cannot browse the doc's workspace or folder so you can control what they see.

What happens when I publicly share my doc?

If you share your doc via the link option, any editors or viewers will still be counted as free. Learn more about link sharing.

Why do I see someone in my workspace that is no longer with the company?

If there is a doc in your workspace that has an owner that is no longer in the company, you may see their name appear in the workspace membership list. If you remove this person, then their docs become read only until ownership of the doc is changed. 

Did this answer your question?