This article covers:

How do I know which plan to choose?

Will I still be able to build powerful docs in the free plan?

What is a Doc Maker (Admin)?

What is a Doc Maker?

What is an Editor?

What roles do I pay for and why?

Who becomes the Doc Maker (Admin) when a workspace is upgraded?

When will I get billed for my workspaces?

How do I know when my subscription will renew?

Do I get a refund if I remove members from my workspace and cancel my plan?

How can I have my teammates try Coda without making them a paid maker?

What payment methods are accepted?

How do I add a new primary card?

How do I upgrade an expired card?

How do I delete a saved card?

Still have pricing questions?

Here at Coda, we like to think about things a bit differently. This includes our pricing approach. We want to make sure you only pay for the workspace members who are doing the heavy lifting on your docs, and that you can share with as many people as you need without paying extra to get more eyes on your information. Let's explore some of the common questions around Coda pricing and our Maker billing.

You can start from a free workspace that can seamlessly grow with your team as you upgrade. This means that anyone can create a free workspace and start by inviting others to participate in the workspace as members with different roles as either admins, Doc Makers, or editors. This provides a consistent experience from the very beginning. When you want to upgrade a free workspace your membership list stays the same in the upgraded workspace. Upgrading is all about unlocking new features and capabilities and not forcing a larger reorganization of a team's workspace setup.

How do I know which plan to choose?

There are four pricing plans to select from. 

  • Free - Choose this plan if you're just getting started or don't plan to build large docs. You'll be able to share docs with as many people as you like, and even move your docs into different folders for better organization.

  • Pro - Choose this plan if you plan on building large docs, but won't be working actively with a team. You'll have no cap on the doc size and access to more automations and Packs. You'll also get priority support and faster assistance should you need help from the Coda team. 

  • Team - The key is in the name - if you're planning on collaborating with a project team, select this option. You'll get more automations and Packs, and doc protection features.

  • Enterprise - Choose this plan if you're planning on rolling out Coda across multiple teams or departments. We'll help you find the custom fit for your situation.

Will I still be able to build powerful docs in the free plan?

Docs gain access to more features and capabilities based on your workspace plan. Just as promised, we have a healthy free tier that gives you the ability to use a large set of our features for free and even more features up to a healthy limit. If you go above the free doc size limit, we give you two weeks to upgrade so we don't slow down the speed of your team. For more on this, please check out How is doc size calculated in the free plan?

What is a Doc Maker (Admin)?

The Doc Maker (Admin), also referred to as a "workspace admin", is the person who's in charge of a workspace. They'll have all the same abilities as a doc maker and are able to adjust the permissions each member has across the workspace. You can have more than one admin for a workspace so that you can share the responsibilities.

What is a Doc Maker?

Your Coda workspaces can have several levels of membership so everyone has the right access for their role in the doc. A Doc Maker is a workspace member who's in charge of building powerful docs for others to use. They'll be able to create docs to share with others, and move them between workspaces. They can also create folders to help organize docs that should stick together.

What is an Editor?

An Editor in a workspace is someone who can contribute and make changes to a doc. They'll be able to see the folder it's in, move it around a workspace to different folders, and share the doc with people both in and outside of the organization. When a workspace member is given the Editor role, they can be shared on any docs in public folders or given direct access to individual docs in folders. They cannot be made a doc owner for docs in the workspace.

What roles do I pay for and why?

To upgrade a free workspace to a paid one, you only need to pay for a single Doc Maker to get started. As you grow into your workspace, you can invite additional members to become Doc Makers in your workspace. To help you get started quickly and keep costs low, you'll only be billed for Doc Makers. At the end of each billing cycle, you will be billed for the workspace based on how many Doc Makers there are. Any changes to the number of Doc Makers in the workspace mid-cycle are automatically prorated.


Who becomes the Doc Maker (Admin) when a workspace is upgraded?

For a free workspace upgraded to a paid plan, we keep the upgrading user as the admin and downgrade all other admins to Doc Maker.


When will I get billed for my workspaces?

When you sign up for a new plan, you will be billed up front for all the Doc Makers in your workspace. If you add a new paid user to your workspace (or upgrade an existing one), we'll prorate them for the remainder of your billing cycle. On the annual plan, you will be charged monthly for these additional membership changes, with prorations applied for the remainder of the billing year.

How do I know when my Annual or Monthly subscription will renew?

Your last invoice will tell you when your subscription will renew based on your billing cycle. Once you receive your invoice, you can download the PDF and find out your next billing date in the details.

Example for Monthly subscriptions:

Example for Annual subscriptions:

Do I get a refund if I remove members from my workspace and cancel my plan?

We currently have a no refund policy in place as stated in our Terms of Service. However, we do apply a prorated credit to your account when you remove Doc Makers, downgrade or cancel your plan. This prorated credit will remain available on your account in the event that you re-upgrade the Workspace in the future. Please let us know if you have any issues with viewing this credit once you have downgraded or removed Doc Makers from your Workspace. For more information on canceling (downgrading) your subscription, check this out.

What payment methods are accepted?

At the moment, only credit card payments are accepted.

How do I add a new primary card?

As a Workspace Admin, you can go to Workspace Settings > Billing > Payment. Add your new card by clicking on the + Add payment method. Once you save the new payment information, click on the “...” and select Use as primary payment method. Your primary card will now go to the top of the list with a Primary designation. You’re all set!

Image 2021-04-29 at 3.09.48 PM

How do I upgrade an expired card?

You will need to add the card information again. Follow the same steps from How do I add a new primary card?. You will then need to locate the expired card (it should no longer have Primary next to it) and click on the “...” to delete.

How do I delete a saved card?

As a Workspace Admin, you can go to Workspace Settings > Billing > Payment. Locate the card, click on the “...” to the right and select delete. Please note you are not able to delete a primary card.

Still have pricing questions?

Get in touch with us at support@coda.io, and we'll happily help you out.

Did this answer your question?