How to Use Filter Bar

The filter bar allows you to filter your data at a personal level that does not affect other team members' views.

Updated over a week ago

With the filter bar feature, it's now easier for teams to collaborate in the same Doc, on the same page, and even on the same table without disrupting others. Filter bar provides an additional option that allows you to filter against multiple criteria as well as revert back to your default criteria consistently, simply with the click of a button.

Inside this article


How to use the filter bar

To get started, you'll need to hover over your table and select the Filter option to open the side panel. From there, you'll see the option to "+ Add Filter" or Enable filter bar. From there, you can toggle the filter bar option on, like so:

Once you've enabled your filter bar you can choose which columns to make visible, that contain data you’d like to filter against. Note, the filter bar will auto-select the first three columns in your table. If your table only has four columns, it will select all four.


You can change the column selection by unhiding and/or hiding any columns in your table. The columns selected will appear at the top of your table and can be changed at any time. To add or remove any columns from the filter bar, you can do this from either the filter side panel or the column dropdown. From the filter side panel: hover over the right side of a table and select Filter. Under Enable filter bar, select the eye icon for the desired column to make it visible or hidden on the filter bar:

To complete this from the column, navigate to the desired column and hover over its name. Select the column dropdown, then navigate to Filter. From there you can choose to add or remove from the filter bar.


🌟 Optional: you can set a default value. 🌟

By setting a default value, you're telling your filter rule which value remains shown for everyone each time you look at the table data. For example, if you have 10 projects but only 5 are currently being worked on, you'd set the filter to only show projects within that specified date range. To set a default column, select the gear icon to the right of the chosen column’s name. If you would like to filter against different criteria than the default values, navigate to the appropriate column option in the filter bar and make any changes. Select Reset to revert the values in the filter bar back to the default selection.


Filter Scenarios

There are some other great filtering options, such as the filter side panel, canvas controls, and the table search bar. Here are some scenarios that detail which filter option makes the most sense.

Filter bar: If you're working with a large table/database table where many teams need to work with this data, the filter bar is the best option for working collaboratively so members' workflows are not disrupted.

Filter: This is the side panel filter option, and will always filter the specified criteria for everyone. An example of where this works well is if you have a separate page for team-specific views of the database table. You can stack this one on top of the filter bar option, as well.

Canvas Control: A canvas control can be used to filter multiple tables by the same criteria, or if you want to the flexibility to choose between having the data filter for everyone, or for each person. For example, if you are in a team meeting and want everyone to be looking at the same data as you discuss it, you may choose to change your canvas control from “personal” to “collaborative.”

Table Search: The table search filter is a great option if you are trying to identify specific data based on keywords, or if you want to look across all rows and columns. This option works best if your search criterion is one-off; meaning you don’t expect to repeatedly filter against this criteria. This option does not affect anyone else's view.


FAQs

If one team member uses the filter bar, does this change what data is shown in the table just for them?

Yes! Team members can choose any criteria they’d like, and changes in the table will only be reflected for them — other team members will not see any. Any default criteria will apply to all team members, meaning every member of the team will see the same data if they press the “reset” button.

If I make a view of a table that contains a filter bar, will the filter bar transfer over?

If you want your table view to contain the same filter bar, copy and paste the table, and it will be visible.

How does the reset button work?

The reset button returns you to the default view. If you set default options, it will revert you back to those. Otherwise, it will clear all the filters.


Related Articles

Did this answer your question?